Image

 

I felt that the “How We Talk About Media Refusal” article related quite similar to me. To further explain, the first part went into detail of how people are very addicted to Facebook. Facebook addiction has become a real issue because there have been “71 million hits” (Portwood-Stacer). Now, 71 million hits is quite a hefty number to get when searching on search engines. Therefore, this suggested how there was a “moral panic going around about people’s practices of Facebook use” (Portwood-Stacer). To be honest, there has definitely been a period where I found myself addicted to Facebook and other social media sites. I felt as if I was addicted because I couldn’t start my day until I looked on my Facebook, Tumblr, email, or Twitter, or go to sleep without looking at those sites. Sure, after some time I was able to kick my addiction to the curb; however, recently I started to think that maybe this “addiction” isn’t really a moral problem that people are faced with. Sometimes, I have heard people say that they use or prefer Facebook because it provided them with information and news that is going on around the world. Actually, I noticed that this was true for me. I feel like Facebook and other social media sites have helped individuals receive more information. Not only has Facebook and other social media sites helped people receive more information, it allowed people to communicate with one other. Technology has helped society be separate/different compared to animals. “Media consumption does serve important practical purposed in many societies. It facilitates communication between family members, friends, and even business associates” (Portwood-Stacer). Therefore, does it make sense to reject media consumption?

 Image

Technology has such a broad “definition” of what it actually is. I don’t think my views on technology have anything to do with being an IT major, but I think that technology can be beneficial and detrimental to society. Since technology doesn’t have a set/standard definition, I think that the reason why technology may be beneficial is because it has helped society in ways to bring them closer with others, help develop communities, and make things easier for people to get tasks done (and of course more). On the other hand, I believe that technology can be detrimental to those who don’t use it in moderation. To further explain, technology can tear certain bonds with other people apart because others are constantly on it, make people lazy and dependent on technology, and cause unnecessary stress (ex. people who question whether they are addicted to social media or not). I don’t think that we need to quit the use of media and different technologies like cold turkey, instead we should learn how to use it in moderation so it doesn’t become a problem in the first place.

 

Images: www.cm-life.com

www.pcma.org

 

