Tags

, , , , ,

First, I would like to point out a few things about persistent and bound virtual worlds.  The author speaks to it here: “Education and research require more control than a single persistent world can provide. Bounded worlds provide a better solution” (Bloomfield 21). Growing up I played a game called Sim City 2000. I remember getting this game and thinking it was great. After many hours of playtime, I realized there really isn’t much more to it and I got bored. In a persistent world such as Second Life, there is always going to be something new to do. Though I have gotten too deep into my ‘Second Life,’ I see that the potential is there. There was minimal interaction between “neighboring towns” in Sim City. In Second Life, on the other hand, there is no certain limit to the amount of interacting you can do with people and things. You can completely customize anything you build, visit countless locations of various contexts, and actually walk around, or fly, while doing it all.

            If someone is so addicted to Facebook or any other form of social media that they need a behavioral psychologist, they are just crazy. The images others posted displaying people injecting their social media says it all. If we can even joke in this way, it has definitely already gotten out of hand for many people. Wait; if I think about it, I am on social media sites at least daily, whether it is one or another. I wonder if I would be able to stop completely. I feel that I absolutely need to have Internet access. Without it, I would be unsure of pending job applications and interviews. As well as a host of other things that are vital to my personal growth and well-being. Considering this, it only makes sense to give more leeway to people in their Internet using habits. Unless they are simply toxic behaviors that are going to ultimately be detrimental to themselves or others.

            If I am watching a show, of course I don’t want to watch the commercials. Watching commercials is not mainstream; it’s a complete waste of time. People usually treat commercials the same way they treat red lights, they stop watching them and start texting or Tweeting until they are over and they can proceed on with what they actually want to do.

            Meeting online players offline is a great notion. When in the virtual sphere, people feel invincible. They are operating as a character whom can die and re-spawn immediately, and they are typically playing against and/or with strangers. When people that have played online together decide to meet offline and play, it changes the game a bit. They have already developed rapport. They most likely have not been cursing each other out to the point where they hate each other. Ultimately, they will still behave a bit different in person while interacting personally or in the game. 

