Collaboration to me, is what makes gaming and especially online gaming so successful. We have been taught at an early age, to reach the finish line and always pursue that goal. That ideology alone is why we are interested in games so much. The more you play, the more interest you have playing it. Soon enough, you’re immersed into the world of Call of Duty or Second Life, and you actively seek out better tips and tricks online from other users. Image

The Internet connects people helps users collaborate to either socialize or work together. There are games like Second Life where the lines are blurred; what one views as play another may view as work. I don’t believe that lines blurring are important because the main goal was already accomplished, collaboration. 

While I don’t play games really anymore, there was a time I was playing Call of Duty 4 nonstop. It can be best described as an obsession, but it was acceptable because that was still the time of when no one in my grade had a license. I would make Xbox Live friends with people in California and Missouri after being on the same team for a number of games. I would go online to the forums and find better strategies or glitches in the game. I would also go set up clan matches to play online against other teams. I was an example of the collaboration made possible because of online. What starts as an interest turns into a community, a culture. Image

Going back to what I said before about being taught at an early age to reach an endpoint, I think everything today is made into a game. You look at Twitter, what is the purpose of even having a retweet or favorite button? On Facebook there really isn’t a purpose of having a like button. On LinkedIn, why is there a meter to show you how you want your profile to look? These little things are trivial, but keep the user more interested, invested, and more likely to go back on again next time. It’s what the world has to come today, everything needs to have its own little niche to attract a person, and that is by way of gaming. 

