It doesn’t surprise me that everything has turned into a game. With all of the advancements in technology, everything is on a screen now! But what does surprise me is what these games consist of. I understand making working out a game (Wii Fit) or eating healthy a game (Weight Watchers), but clicking on cows, really?

Growing up, I was definitely a Sims girl, so I totally can relate to all the games like FatWorld, Bacteria World, and even Disaffected!. All of these games transform work life into fun and they tend to simulate everyday experiences. It gives players the opportunity to become educated and enlightened about what it’s like to be a Kinko employee or to be a farmer.

By immersing players in a foreign experience, games help them understand the challenges and choices that others face, whether it’s cash-strapped diabetics trying to be healthy or agriculture-supply-chain managers. – Jason Tanz

I’m embarrassed to live in the same world as people who became addicted to a game that was meant to be a joke in the gaming world. And I’m even confused as to how someone became so addicted to clicking on cows to earn “points” and spending “mooney” that they said, “I’d rather talk to my Cow Clicker friends than to people I went to school with for 12 years.”

cow-clicker-imaginary-farm-vandergreg

Even though Farmville is silly, I can understand why it was so successful. They incorporated many factors that Man talks about in his article. For example, it’s extremely smart to use appointment dynamics in a game about farming, because it’s realistic. In real life, if you were a farmer you’d have to water your crops at a certain time everyday. But having AD in Cow clicker, essentially a countdown to when you can click on your next cow.

 

I can definitely relate to how addicting appointment dynamics are, because I hate to admit it but I am a Candy Crush addict. For those not familiar with the game, you get 5 lives to beat the level you are currently on but once you use them all you must wait a 1/2 hour to receive another life. I’ve become so addicted I get notifications on my phone telling me when to go on and use my life (so I get the maximum amount of lives per day)… it’s actually pathetic and I’m embarrassed to be writing this.

images-2 Unknown-2

I can also relate to Tanz and Man stating how everything is now turned into a game because I find myself adding more information on my Facebook profile just so I can receive the 100% completed. I also see contests on instagram all the time, for example “Ocean County’s Cutest Baby Contest”: which literally requires you to upload a picture of your baby and have people “like” the picture. Whoever gets the most likes gets absolutely nothing but the unknown title of “Ocean County’s cutest baby.” This relates to how we have become addicted to nothing and are competitive in games that have no motive to be.

