Image

I remember when I was moving from Xanga to MySpace to Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, and Instagram. It wasn’t because I felt that one was better than the other, but the trend was moving, and I wanted to follow that trend (probably like most people). I think the term “ghetto” has been used more by younger generations who is trying to describe some thing or someone as no longer being within the trend. When I read the boyd article about how a 15 year old stated, “if it comes down to it, we have to supposedly stick with our own races. … That’s just the unwritten code of high school nowadays” I couldn’t agree with her at all. This statement is absolutely ridiculous and makes her sound very ignorant. I find it actually quite sad that someone that young has a mindset like that. An “unwritten code” for high school will eventually be an “unwritten code” for college, and then it’ll be an “unwritten code” for life. This is the type of mindset that passes down to the next generation and the next. We become enemies with each other because we try to separate one another into different categories. Sure, there could be a competition against other human beings, but there shouldn’t be a competition against different races. One race isn’t better than others –and if you think that one race is better than others, keep it to yourself.

Image

There might be a separation against races in places like school lunchrooms, malls, and other places where people gather around; because of whatever reason we try to come up with to hide the truth (IMO). Have we ever wondered why it’s like that? I’m pretty sure people have experienced being at different lunch tables. The popular, the geeks, the Blacks, the Latinos, the Asians, the Whites, etc. had their own table in middle/high school. I think it was like that because people were too afraid to go out of their comfort zones and branch out to other races. Were we too afraid to see whether we had something in common? Once you try to get to know someone else, you may find yourself having a lot in common. Truthfully, in middle school I sat at the Asian table because I felt that us Asians had a lot in common and could understand each other. Now that I look back, I realized how wrong I was to see that we didn’t have much in common, but we just sat together because we were just the only Asians in that school who had the same lunch period. What’s “cool” and “acceptable” is based on the individual’s opinion. Don’t let other peoples’ opinions alter or affect what your beliefs are. Racism, hatred, judgments are some of the things that humanity needs to fight against together. It’s a two way street.

This YouTube video has a great message. Fighting against bigotry.

Sources:

globalresearch.ca

birthofanewearth.blogspot.com

