This weeks readings were all very interesting and they all revolved around the idea of real world vs. online communities, how they differ, how they are the same, and even how they compare to one another.

Sydell’s article, “Virtual Virus” Sheds Light on Real World Behaviors, talks about comparing people’s reactions to a catastrophe in a video game using it to predict how they will react in real life. Since people take WoW so seriously, I do agree that this can slightly predict how they will handle something tragic like this in real life.

Although, like it stated in the article it’s hard to say because people react differently then they expect. And since it’s a video game, they may react differently because their characters die all the time and they can go on with the game.

WorldOfWarcraft

 

William’s article, From Treehouse to Barracks, he also discusses how WoW can relate to the real world. I related to this article a lot because my boyfriend and the 7 boys he lives with all play WoW together. If they aren’t all home or in the same room when they decide to play, they first all sign into Google Hang out, so they can talk while they are on the game, and then they all sign into WoW and meet up accordingly.

He is part of a social guild, since it is an extension of his friendships in real life. But it is not strictly a social guild because don’t just care about socializing on the game they actually plan missions and attacks to carry out each time they play. He is also apart of a PvP guild, like Williams stated in the article that it is common to have a mixture of the two.

Guilds-Mission-Multi

The last article was by far my favorite. The other two about WoW I could relate to through my boyfriend but the one about Myspace vs. Facebook I can relate myself. I think it’s almost an extension of real life because of the segregation without being spoken of. I would’ve never noticed this if it wasn’t pointed out to me like this article did, but now that it is mentioned I do see what Boyd is talking about in his article White Flight in Networked Publics.

Personally I don’t feel that the segregation is because Myspace is “ghetto” or Facebook is for the “higher class.” I think it was because Myspace was used for people who were interested more in Music and networking with people with the same interest. And I think Facebook was strictly for socializing, and people made the switch because they couldn’t relate to Myspace.

I also agree with the “competitive” aspect that he mentioned in the article. Having the newest song playing, having a top 8 of friends, and having a cool background was competitive. PC4PC (picture comment for picture comment) also made this competitive, and maybe people switched to Facebook to get away from it.

 

 

