When I got a Myspace, I had to hide it from my mom. And when she figured out that I had one, she did monthly checks to make sure I was not getting into any trouble or acting inappropriately. When she stopped doing checks, my Myspace turned “ghetto”. I would type words “LyKe diiS”, used mirror pictures as my default pictures and gave into pc4pc (a phrase meaning ‘picture comment for picture comment’ – insinuating that I would comment somebody’s picture if they commented back on mine as well) on the Myspace Bulletins. I actually conformed to “ghetto” trends before I realized that my friends were all switching to Facebook. Before it was actually ghetto, everybody was doing it. Or for some reason, I thought everyone was doing it. I had no idea that it was actually stigmatized in a negative light.

I personally switched to Facebook because everyone of my new college friends had a Facebook. When I switched over, it seemed much like Linkedin. It was way more appropriate, mature and functional. All of my information was in a way more organized layout, and I was not able to edit my layout or any themes, which made it more uniform. It was truly ‘higher class’.

Just like the transfer from Myspace to Facebook – I believe that it too shall pass. It will not be long before a new culture steals the spot light. Just like many other trends, we have seen that history seems to repeat themselves. There has been a lot of articles that cover the social and cultural aspect of Instagram. It has more so been a platform in which people post pictures. However the social culture has really shaped it to be a site in which people market pictures that are tailored to their followers. This similarly reflects the Myspace Bulletin “pc4pc”. It is socially ‘cool’ to want likes, but just on a different form of social media. Image

