As weeks go by, I am finding my views and perceptions towards virtual life changing drastically. Things that once passed by my life unnoticed, are brought to my attention now. We all went through that ‘Friendster’ – ‘Myspace’ – ‘Facebook’ phase. Some still are going through that phase, no matter how much they deny it. I’ve cleansed all social network sites out of my system, meaning to say I have deleted all social network accounts that I used to have (Twitter, Facebook, Instagram). The reason why I used the word ‘cleanse’ is because I see social network sites as toxic… because while I still had them my life was like a soap opera. I figured it is better to live a healthy and calm life. I’m proud to say I’ve been social sites-free for three months now!

For some people, three months might seem a short period of time. But being a social media site addict that is quite an achievement. I remember the reason why I wanted to have Myspace is because everyone else was on it and I wanted to be popular (it pains me to actually confess this). But hey, I was only what, 14? 15? Those are the prime age when girls find it necessary to be all cool and popular. I remember spending hours taking gazillion photos selfies just to be uploaded on my Myspace because I wanted to flaunt myself. I remember I would get super excited to have tons of friend requests in a day, and how flattered I was whenever people commented on my photos, complimenting me. Believe me, if I could go back in time, I would have slapped my teenage self multiple times until I go into a coma.

Image

When people started to ditch Myspace and started using Facebook, I did the same thing too. At first I didn’t quite like it, because we weren’t able to edit our profile background or put song widgets like we could in Myspace. (The one thing I’m thankful for is the fact that I learn how to use html codes from Myspace. it proves to be very helpful till this very day!). But since all my friends were on Facebook, I adapted with Facebook’s plain and dull layout.

Image

I think people can be so fake and mean on social sites. They have every right to say whatever they want, do everything they want even if that means discarding whatever beliefs or principles they had. I was one of these people, unfortunately, and I am very ashamed of myself. I had a lot of followers on twitter, and I’d sometimes just tweet things that I don’t really mean just so I could get a lot of retweets. I condemned people who try to cross me in public because I know I get a lot of support from my followers. I had the ‘devil-may-care’ attitude that means I go around saying ‘I don’t give a rat’s ass about what you want to say about me!’ How matured, yes I know.

 Image

So speaking based on experience, online culture certainly could affect one’s life in reality. I’m not saying that everyone should just quit social media sites. If you’re able to control yourself and stop yourself from being someone else on social sites, then stay, by all means. I personally don’t think it’s worth my time to linger in those things anymore, unless if it’s really required. But I’m really glad that’s all in the past and that I ‘repented’ before I completely become a slave to the demeaning culture of social sites haha!

