To start I really liked the way Baym opened her article. “Every generation believes it is singular in its experiences of rapid and monumental social and technological changes.” Such a profound observation and intensely true. I completely agree that with the advent of the internet, the entire world changed, whether or not it was for the better is still up for debate (in my opinion at least). As I continued to read, I was struck by her conversation on the distribution of social boundaries. “On the internets open forums people share their medication regimes, heartaches, and sexual preferences.” The internet has become a watering-hole for conversation and how one chooses to navigate these waters in completely up to them. What is privacy anymore and how do we measure it? When reading this section I immediately thought of my old roommate. Although it does not relate too much to the research methods aspect, it touched directly upon the forming of relationships through the internet with individuals both near and far. My old roommate was a little unstable and would often retreat into herself and find refuge in making friends online. Instead of reaching out to her physical friends and roommates (myself included) she chose to spend hours online meeting people and developing “relationships”. She found a sort of acceptance and understanding online that she just didn’t experience physically. I did not think it was healthy but in this day and age it is certainly an option. This article got me thinking about how one would honestly measure experiences such as hers. How do you take something so abstract and try to measure it as if it was a physical thing? I am certainly interested to see where this research will go and what it will uncover along the way, both now and in the future. 

 

