Technology has altered privacy, intimacy, and display in that there is complete anonymity so it’s like playing a part or being onstage for a certain identity and offstage with another. Even I am more professional online than I am offline. I divulge less information instead of more or even fictitious information. I may be considered old fashioned or just your average college student hoping to get a job after I graduate, but several years ago I cleaned up my Facebook account and became unassociated with older platforms like Myspace. To comment on the Nussbaum article, I certainly wouldn’t put any naked pictures of myself online in this reality, but if I had no family ties and planned on being a bartender for the rest of my life I might consider stripping down if it paid well or gave me fame. Again, this might be old fashioned, but even if I had a “perfect” body I would want be there to experience the reactions of those I chose to show it to. There’s really no reason with the exception of fame or money to do so. Even stripping in a strip club is better because then at least you get a workout on top of being paid. I do however; think the “kid these days…” mentality is outdated. You can’t protect children forever and if you want to limit their experiences, deny them access to the internet or at least knowledgeably estimate when they are mature enough to handle it.

Image Image borrowed from commons.wikimedia.org

Surveillance is a benefit when it involves terrorism or other acts that are threatening to citizens. As in the Madrid article, eventually fictitious stories don’t add up or eventually seem suspicious. This type of surveillance is almost voluntary. Just because Munchausen’s has reached the online world doesn’t mean it’s much different than it would be in person. These people have serious psychological issues and the best advice I can give would be to stay away from people you don’t know online, make your settings private or at least stay anonymous yourself or give contact information that is not traceable. And some people without psychological disorders just like to lie, it’s like cheating or stealing, they do it for the thrill. Letting people into your life is a big decision so we should monitor our actions to prevent the wrong people from getting too close. If they’re lying about having cancer, they are probably doing more damage to themselves than to anyone else. However, if they pose a physical threat, more surveillance should be used and privacy should be considered a privilege, not a right.

Image Image borrowed from www.flickr.com

Privacy is a value when information is not self-divulged. Celebrities may seem to be embarrassed by private information that is divulged to the public but it doesn’t seem like they are doing much to prevent the information from becoming public in the first place. The Marwick and Boyd article show how celebrities use social media to perform the identity of a famous person. It’s just another way to sell the “brand” of Miley Cyrus, or whoever the celebrity may be. But, if I were to sell my brand it would be far more boring and even my secrets would pale by comparison of the publicity stunts that celebrities use.

Image Image borrowed from people.artcenter.edu

