There is definitely no privacy online, and it seems like it is getting worse. When I think of online privacy, I always think of Google knowing what we search. I try not reveal important information online when I tweet. If at any point you think you have privacy online, remember that everything you do online is trackable through your IP address. I think that surveillance online is only a benefit when there is something trouble happening that you need to be aware of. 

After reading Madrid’s The Lying Disease, I lost a little faith in people. I couldn’t stop reading because it was that shocking that there are people like this. I also read most of the comments just to see what others had to say about it. I understand that liars are frequent online but I didn’t know that people lie about serious medical conditions. Online communities are popular because it brings different people around the world together, but there lies the problem. You do not know that person on the other screen, so trust is more difficult in an online setting. I wonder how many viral “feel good” Facebook photos or Twitter posts are actually fake and just concocted. After reading I’m sure there are definitely some fake ones. I had no idea that there is actually a word that defines people who find the need to lie online. As said in weeks before, lying online is as simple as it is appealing to people. Why not embellish something if it makes you look better online? Thinking about it, I can’t think of a time when I lied online but I’m sure I did, probably when I was young. Technology only enhances things. It enhances how we communicate with others in these online communities and it enhances ourself and the portrayal of us. 

Each platform online (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc.) garners a different audience, so the content will be different. You may reveal more on certain platform than you would on another. I know that I don’t do anything on my Facebook but I will communicate with my friends on Twitter. 

