Image

Technology has definitely altered how we want to display our profiles and adjust the privacy levels on it. Technology allowed people to create virtual profiles for social networking sites, or even dating sites. Since there are these types of websites to create a profile, the value of displaying our information on the web becomes more significant. Society understands that if they aren’t interested at what they see online, then they probably won’t be interested when they meet this individual in person.  Therefore, there is a value placed on the information we put in our profiles because it can give us the opportunity to get hired or not. As for me, I do have a Facebook and LinkedIn account that I use somewhat regularly. For my Facebook, I don’t usually make comments or posts, but just use it to keep in touch with people. Ever since I started hearing how people were getting fired from their jobs because of the posts/comments they have made on their Facebook or Twitter page, I decided to take a look through my Facebook to see if there were any comments/posts that I made which may become a negative factor for future employers later down the road. I was glad I did this because I found some comments and posts that I don’t think would “boost” the quality of my online profile to get hired. As for LinkedIn, I didn’t make my account until a few years ago. LinkedIn became so common for people to pretty much post their resume up so companies can look through profiles to see if they qualify for the position or not. As much as I would like to say I could do everything, I wouldn’t lie on my resume/LinkedIn account because if you go for an interview and you can’t back it up, you’d look like a fool. This actually goes for any online profile, but if you’re going to lie, at least make it feasible. I don’t encourage people to lie on their profiles because I think one day someone may find out and expose the truth. Then, people are going to wonder why you lied in the first place. Trust would be lost, and it would probably be hard to regain someone’s trust or even get hired.

Image

My LinkedIn account doesn’t have everything I have on my resume, but it has the places I worked/interned at, and what I did there. The reason why I don’t have everything up on my Facebook and LinkedIn account is because I don’t want everyone to see what I have done in my life. Why? Cause it’s my business, and I can put up whatever information I want if I really want others to know. If people want to get to know me at a personal level, then they can communicate with me via phone, text, email, or online messaging. With the use of technology, it is so easy to get in contact with people. Sometimes it feels like there isn’t much substance in the conversation because there seems to be a lack of “emotion” in these conversations. If we aren’t on the phone or video chatting, then I can’t really see/feel the emotion. I’ve experienced it several times where people would have a certain “tone” and it made me uncomfortable that I was uncomfortable that I felt that there was this “tone” because there was a period at the end of the sentence or etc.

Image

The kind of lives that people live on their blogs, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, and Second Life obviously depends on the individual and what they’re main purpose is. Some people’s appearance online and offline may be similar or completely different. People who have blogs probably takes a lot of time to make sure it is reach out to their viewers/readers. Therefore, this probably means the blogger has a high achievement/goal. As for Facebook, I think it’s more about putting in information so your contacts/friends can see what you’re up to. Twitter is just an ongoing thing for people to post quick comments about their thoughts/feelings. YouTube allows people to put up videos to either help people (tutorials), or become famous. I think Second Life really goes further with letting these people/avatars be who they want to be, if they aren’t the way they want to be in real life. 

 

Image Sources:

theantimedia.com

vpnreviewz.com

yalelawtech.org

