I find this weeks topic to be extremely interesting because it hits close to home. Privacy and the internet are almost contradictions of one another. I grew up with the internet and although it has changed drastically since I first began using it, I always understood how powerful it was. In the Nussbaum article, Kitty is asked how she will feel about her content on the internet when she is 35 and I really liked her response. “It’s a documentation of my youth, in a way. Even if it’s just me, going back and Googling myself in 25 or 30 years. It’s my self—what I used to be, what I used to do.” Although I liked her response it also terrifies me. We say we “don’t mind” now because we are young and naive but even just looking back at my MySpace page, I can’t help but hang my head in shame. The article also introduces an entirely new idea that maybe as a generation we are changing privacy in a positive way, that being transparent has a plethora of advantages. “Younger people, one could point out, are the only ones for whom it seems to have sunk in that the idea of a truly private life is already an illusion. Every street in New York has a surveillance camera. Each time you swipe your debit card at Duane Reade or use your MetroCard, that transaction is tracked. Your employer owns your e-mails. The NSA owns your phone calls. Your life is being lived in public whether you choose to acknowledge it or not.” This is a very good point but at the same time there is no choice about being documented in this manner, however it is a choice when you post it on the internet for everyone to see. When it comes to privacy and the internet I think people forget how permanent it all is. I may be biased to all of this because I am a babysitter and one of the girls I watched sent a nude photo to a boy who then turned it into an email thread and sent it to everyone in his contacts. Although I fully recognize that she took the photo and sent it, it was not with the intent to share it with our entire town. Now this girls naked, 14-year-old body will remain in cyberspace forever and she has to live with it. So yea I guess you could say I’m in favor of sharing some personal information online but many times “choice” is taken out of the equation and that I have a big problem with.  

 

