gold

 

After completing Dibbell’s, “The Life of the Chinese Gold Farmer”, I was shocked and fascinated. I had never heard of this type of labor before and found it to be appalling but then again it pales in comparison to the conditions of sweatshops. This type of labor is monotonous and draining but not life threatening. I’ve never played World of War Craft but I know plenty of people who do, especially when it comes to the children I babysit. I’ve seen how consuming this game can become so I do understand why someone would reach out to a gold farm in order to get ahead. However, the entire time I was reading I could not help but feel like this entire system was just one big form of cheating. “In the eyes of many gamers, in fact, real-money trading is essentially a scam — a form of cheating only slightly more refined than, say, offering 20 actual dollars for another player’s Boardwalk and Park Place in Monopoly. Some players, and quite a few game designers, see the problem in more systemic terms. Real-money trading harms the game, they argue, because the overheated productivity of gold farms and other profit-seeking operations makes it harder for beginning players to get ahead” (Dibbell 2007). As the article continued, it became clear that a resentment did exist amongst players, however this industry has grown too big for them to stop it. I was also surprised to read that after being a platform for R.M.T, eBay enforced a ban on these sales citing these transactions were prohibited by the gaming companies. At the end of the day I’m not too sure how I feel about Gold Farms, I understand that since the market has been established, thus creating a demand, Gold farms will continue to exist and produce. It’s more about the lifestyle of the worker, the few men interviewed for this article were exactly my age and I could not imagine leading such a life. 

 

